You should lock settings every time you make a change to ensure the settings are saved.
How do I lock the POS settings?
Follow these steps
Lock Settings saves the current POS configuration so the settings can be restored if a reset is performed or if the system is migrated to new hardware. As a best practice, we recommend you Lock Settings each time changes are made to ensure they are preserved. To Lock Settings, follow these steps.