What does each customer order status mean?

  Heads up

If you're a developer with one of our integration partners looking for technical details on order status, see Models > Structures or Models > Enumerations in our API Docs.

Question

What does each customer order status mean and how does the status relate to the available inventory?

status.png

Answer

Statuses are assigned to customer orders to indicate where each order is currently sitting in the fulfillment cycle. Each customer order status, the recommended use case, and the impact of the status on the product inventory for items on an order is explained below.

Quote
Represents a quote for a potential customer order. Does not reduce units in status Available for Sale.
Received (New)
The order has been received but not yet acted upon. Inventory on customer orders with this status is removed from Available for Sale and marked as Dedicated to Customers.
On hold
The order has been reviewed and has been placed on hold. Inventory on customer orders with this status is removed from Available for Sale and marked as Dedicated to Customers.
Open (Ready to Pick)
The order has been reviewed and is ready for processing. Inventory on customer orders with this status is removed from Available for Sale and marked as Dedicated to Customers.
Customer Pickup
Order is ready for the customer to pick up, but has not yet been paid or invoiced. Inventory on customer orders with this status is removed from Available for Sale and marked as Dedicated to Customers.
Picked
The order has been picked. Inventory on customer orders with this status is removed from Available for Sale and marked as Dedicated to Customers.
Partially Picked
The order has been partially picked but is not yet ready to be converted to an invoice. Inventory on customer orders with this status is removed from Available for Sale and marked as Dedicated to Customers.
Invoiced
The customer order has been converted to an invoice and is considered finalized. If the invoice is posted, inventory is removed from Dedicated to Customers and deducted from your location's inventory. 
Merged
The order was merged with another order. The new order takes precedence. Orders that have been merged into a new order are left for tracking purposes only. Inventory is tracked on the new merged order and takes on the status Dedicated to Customers.
Cancelled
The order was cancelled. Inventory on customer orders with this status is removed from Dedicated to Customers and re-assigned Available for Sale.

The customer order status directly impacts the inventory status of all products on a customer order. For a breakdown of inventory statuses, see the article What is inventory status.

More Information

For more information, see the article What does the highlighted colour of a customer order represent?

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 1 found this helpful

Comments

0 comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.